Adam Selzer has a bunch of books out - mostly funny YA novels and smart alecky Chicago history/ghostlore stuff. One time he met Jim Morrison's cousin. New novel PLAY ME BACKWARDS out in August from Simon and Schuster. #satanicya

 

PLAY ME BACKWARDS #satanicYA reviews

A brief roundup of some of the reviews of PLAY ME BACKWARDS so far. It’s a critical hit! I’m getting compared to a “cultural trash compactor” by people who mean it as a compliment!

"Novembers cold chain
made of wet boots and rain
and shiny black ravens
on chimney-smoke lanes”
- Tom Waits, “November.”
Go ahead. Write a better line than that. 

"Novembers cold chain

made of wet boots and rain

and shiny black ravens

on chimney-smoke lanes”

- Tom Waits, “November.”

Go ahead. Write a better line than that. 

Kelso cracking up reading a magazine (I always assumed it was Car Toons) in the bathroom on That 70s Show’s “Doofus and Dilligent” filmstrip. I keep wanting Ashton Kutcher to play Jesus in a movie so I can make a gif of this scene with the caption “Where’s your messiah NOW?”

Kelso cracking up reading a magazine (I always assumed it was Car Toons) in the bathroom on That 70s Show’s “Doofus and Dilligent” filmstrip. I keep wanting Ashton Kutcher to play Jesus in a movie so I can make a gif of this scene with the caption “Where’s your messiah NOW?”

You’re just jealous because your species never invented a tv show good enough that anyone cared what time it came on, so you didn’t NEED time.

You’re just jealous because your species never invented a tv show good enough that anyone cared what time it came on, so you didn’t NEED time.

(Source: agendr)

tastefullyoffensive:

[tumbledrycomics]


Not enough on the left and how did that guy get a whole half of the bed and also are some lesbian couples’ beds just pure pillow?

tastefullyoffensive:

[tumbledrycomics]

Not enough on the left and how did that guy get a whole half of the bed and also are some lesbian couples’ beds just pure pillow?

itswalky:

One of the oldest things of mine I still own - my second grade school folder.

Holy crap i had some of these….

itswalky:

One of the oldest things of mine I still own - my second grade school folder.

Holy crap i had some of these….

OUT TODAY!  The Satanic YA.   Tell your friends!

To enter a giveaway, send message “(Your Name Here)’s Soul” and your mailing address to staff AT smartalecksguide DOT com

OUT TODAY!  The Satanic YA.   Tell your friends!

To enter a giveaway, send message “(Your Name Here)’s Soul” and your mailing address to staff AT smartalecksguide DOT com

Only four days til PLAY ME BACKWARDS the #satanicya hits shelves.   
even the most dedicated slacker is devoted to something…
“Hilariously subversive, but also tender and poignant. 9/10.” - VOYA

"Timelessly true to life…diabolically funny…in the tradition of Rob Thomas’ Rats Saw God" - Booklist
"Mordantly funny" - Publisher’s Weekly
"Refusing to rely on burning passion or overwrought sentiment" - Kirkus
A committed slacker enlists the help of his best friend (who may or may not be the devil) to get his act together in this novel filled with humor and honesty, ideal for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Leon Harris isn’t exceptional and he isn’t popular. He’s the kind of guy that peaked in middle school, when once upon a time he was in the “gifted” program and on the fast track to Ivy League glory. 

Now, a high school senior, he’s a complete slacker who spends his time hanging out in a third-rate ice cream parlor with his best friend, Stan, a guy who (jokingly, Leon thinks) claims to be Satan. Committed to his sloth, Leon panics when he finds out that Anna, the love of his life aka middle school girlfriend, might be moving back to town. 

Determined to get his act together, Leon asks Stan for help. Stan gives him a few seemingly random and mysterious assignments. Date a popular girl. Listen to “Moby-Dick,” the audiobook. Find the elusive white grape slushee. Join the yearbook committee. 

As each task brings Leon one step away from slacker city and one step closer to Anna, he starts to wonder if maybe he shouldn’t have promised Stan his soul after all…

Also: there’s plenty of sex and swearing in it, and no hidden religious messages, so don’t worry, kids.

Only four days til PLAY ME BACKWARDS the #satanicya hits shelves.   

even the most dedicated slacker is devoted to something…


Hilariously subversive, but also tender and poignant. 9/10.” - VOYA

"Timelessly true to life…diabolically funny…in the tradition of Rob Thomas’ Rats Saw God" - Booklist


"Mordantly funny" - Publisher’s Weekly


"Refusing to rely on burning passion or overwrought sentiment" - Kirkus

A committed slacker enlists the help of his best friend (who may or may not be the devil) to get his act together in this novel filled with humor and honesty, ideal for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Leon Harris isn’t exceptional and he isn’t popular. He’s the kind of guy that peaked in middle school, when once upon a time he was in the “gifted” program and on the fast track to Ivy League glory. 

Now, a high school senior, he’s a complete slacker who spends his time hanging out in a third-rate ice cream parlor with his best friend, Stan, a guy who (jokingly, Leon thinks) claims to be Satan. Committed to his sloth, Leon panics when he finds out that Anna, the love of his life aka middle school girlfriend, might be moving back to town. 

Determined to get his act together, Leon asks Stan for help. Stan gives him a few seemingly random and mysterious assignments. Date a popular girl. Listen to “Moby-Dick,” the audiobook. Find the elusive white grape slushee. Join the yearbook committee. 

As each task brings Leon one step away from slacker city and one step closer to Anna, he starts to wonder if maybe he shouldn’t have promised Stan his soul after all…

Also: there’s plenty of sex and swearing in it, and no hidden religious messages, so don’t worry, kids.



Greenock Harbour at Night (detail), John Atkinson Grimshaw, 1893


Always reblog John Atkinson Grimshaw.

Greenock Harbour at Night (detail), John Atkinson Grimshaw, 1893

Always reblog John Atkinson Grimshaw.

victongai:

'Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage' by Haruki Murakami

Victo Ngai

Being a long time Murakami fans, I was super excited when AD Kim from Boston Globe asked me to create the art for the “Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage” book review. 

In “Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage,” Haruki Murakami’s latest novel, he allows his hero to eavesdrop on one of life’s darkest possible tunes: the inner hum, the secret desire, for death. As the book opens, the “colorless” Tsukuru Tasaki has fallen into a terrible depression. Tsukuru’s four closest friends, who are nicknamed by colors, abruptly and unequivocally cut him off. All he can think about is dying. Tsukuru escapes the void, just barely, and emerges a new person, the person we follow through the rest of this book. Murakami elegantly describes how emotional trauma can lead us to disassociate. Read the book review here.

Big thanks to AD Kim Vu. This is actually my first time working with the Boston Globe, what a great way to start!

atomic-flash:

Skunker Skulls, Monster Claws, and Vampire Bats, oh my! - Bats In Your Belfry action toy from Mattel, 1964.

You can tell it’s Mattel - it’s swell!

atomic-flash:

Skunker Skulls, Monster Claws, and Vampire Bats, oh my! - Bats In Your Belfry action toy from Mattel, 1964.

You can tell it’s Mattel - it’s swell!

julieraven:

earthdad:

princedollyjellyfish:

ohsocialjustice:

A very good way of going about explaining this issue. It’s good to see something positive come from Tumblr.

HOLY SHIT. THIS. THIS IS WHAT I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO TELL PEOPLE. SHUT YOUR MOUTH ABOUT MEN VS WOMEN. @_@

this is literally so important

I Need Feminism Because

(Source: homo-club)